No Wait Sourdough Waffles

I’ve had my sourdough going for over a year now, and I’m still finding ways to use the discard from when I feed my starters. I loved the idea of sourdough waffles using discarded starter, however, all the recipes I found required the starter to be mixed and left overnight to rise. The recipes also included eggs, which is an ingredient I rarely have in my kitchen. I was determined to create an eggless waffle recipe that could be made right away, that was also crisp outside, cakey inside, and full of flavor.

waffleperfect

After failing to adapt several of the popular recipes from various sourdough baking websites, I decided one morning to just wing it and see what would happen. I haphazardly tossed common waffle ingredients into a bowl, gave it a mix, and poured some into my ceramic waffle iron. A few minutes later, I lifted the handle and lo’ and behold – it was the most beautiful waffle I’d ever seen. For real, y’all. I was impressed.

Luckily, I scribbled down most of the ingredients and was later able to recreate those glorious waffles on a whim. I hope you enjoy them as much as we do. πŸ™‚

nowaitwaffles

No Wait Sourdough Waffles

Ingredients are all organic, when available.

  • 300 g discard starter (unfed)
  • 400 g all purpose flour
  • 400 g unsweetened coconut milk (carton not canned)*
  • 200 g filtered water
  • 56 g butter, melted (weighed before melting)**
  • 30 g sugar
  • 12 g vanilla extract
  • 7 g apple cider vinegar
  • 6 g baking soda
  • 6 g cinnamon
  • pinch of salt

*I use the So Delicious brand coconut milk in a carton. You could also use almond milk, cashew milk, or dairy milk. Use whatever milk you prefer.

**Butter can be substituted for vegan butter or coconut oil to make this recipe vegan.

Instructions:

Add all ingredients to a large bowl and stir to combine. The texture of the batter should be slightly thick but still more liquid in consistency. Some lumps are okay. The mixture will also start to bubble slightly, this is completely normal.

wafflebatter

Pour about 1/2 cup or so into the pre-heated waffle iron. Add more or less depending on the size waffles your maker can hold. Mine is a Belgian style machine and holds approximately 1/3-1/2 cup waffle batter. Close and cook as directed.

waffleraw

Depending on your waffle maker, it could take up to five minutes to cook entirely. The waffle will be medium light brown and crisp on the outside when it is ready.

wafflecooked

Carefully remove waffle from the maker and allow to cool on a wire rack. You can also keep the cooked waffles in a warm oven while you make the rest. This recipe makes approximately 8 Belgian waffles. You can double the recipe if more are needed.

waffleinside

This recipe is everything I had been hoping for taste and texture wise, without having to wait! I haven’t tried it yet, but I’m sure it would make great pancakes as well! I’ll follow up on that once I have tested it. Feel free to add fruit, nuts, or even chocolate chips to the batter for an extra-special treat. πŸ™‚

I advise freezing any leftovers for a super quick breakfast. Just pop the waffle in the oven and broil for a few seconds on each side! Perfection!!

Enjoy & happy baking!
~Samantha Sunshine

I'd love to hear from you! :)

