Vegan Sourdough Banana Bread

I’ve been baking with sourdough for a little over 9 months now. It’s been a delicious learning experience full of highly praised successes and inevitably a few massive fails. Tending to my starters (because a girl can never have too many backups) has brought me endless joy and feelings of purpose.

ryestarter

Rye Sourdough Starter

If you tend to a sourdough starter yourself, then you are probably familiar with the term discard. (It is that cold, unfed starter straight from the fridge that you remove prior to feeding fresh flour/water.) It’s been my new life’s purpose for the past 9+ months to make sure none of that precious semi-liquid goes down the drain. (Actually, you should never put it down the drain – it will definitely clog up your pipes. If you must actually discard it, please do so in the compost or trash.) However, I plan to share with you a variety of recipes so that you never actually need to discard that lovely, useful “trash.” You’ll be surprised at how many different ways there are to utilize it!

Today’s recipe uses 1 cup of unfed starter, which is about how much I usually have to “discard” when I am feeding mine. If you end up with less than 1 cup, you can always save your discard in the fridge until you accumulate enough for the recipe. Or cut the recipe in half (just bake it in a smaller pan). πŸ™‚

veganbananabread

I “veganized” the original recipe, found here.

Ingredients are all organic, when available.

  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 cup unfed sourdough starter (I used rye starter)
  • 1 cup mashed bananas (2 large bananas)
  • 1 cup coconut sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil
  • 1 chia egg*
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • handful of chopped nuts (I used cashews and pecans)

*To make a chia egg, grind 1 tbs chia seeds to a fine powder – I do this in my Nutribullet – and mix with 3 tbs water. Combine well. A gel-like substance will immediately form.

Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Add all ingredients to your bowl and mix well. That’s it. No special order, nothing. Just dump it all in and stir til combined. I do this in my Kitchenaid, but a hand mixer or even some good ol’ fashioned elbow grease will do the trick!Β  Pour into a parchment lined bread pan and bake for 1 hour (or until a knife comes out clean). I love using parchment instead of just greasing the pan because there’s no risk of your bread getting stuck in the pan and it makes clean up a breeze!

bananabread

Can you smell it?

Allow to cool in the pan for about 5 minutes, then rest on a baker’s rack to cool for as long as you can stand! This bread tastes delicious and the aroma will penetrate every room in your home! I hope you enjoy this sweet way to use your discarded starter. πŸ™‚

Happy Baking!

4 thoughts on “Vegan Sourdough Banana Bread

I'd love to hear from you! :)

