Make Abuela Proud Flour Tortillas (Sourdough and Regular Version)

Full disclosure, I actually do not have an abuela.. But if I did, these would be sure to make her proud! I am not of Hispanic nor Mexican decent, however, I am a huge fan of Mexican food! I was born and raised on the outskirts of San Antonio, Texas, so I’d like to fancy myself a connoisseur of Tex-Mex. And if there’s one thing that can make or break your Mexican menu, it’s the almighty flour tortilla.

stacktortillas

I’m sure we’re all familiar with it’s soft, pillowy qualities. How it envelopes those spicy fillings, creating the perfect vehicle to transport a full-on fiesta to your mouth! A proper flour tortilla is pliable, soft, yet strong enough to hold up the the massive stuffing of ingredients that is bound to happen! They are also extremely simple to make. If you find a recipe that seems overly complicated for tortillas, it probably is. This shouldn’t be difficult. At most, it takes me 15 minutes from the time I start the dough to the time I finish cooking them up! Really, it’s that simple! πŸ™‚

Now, you might be asking yourself, if this were a truly traditional flour tortilla recipe why isn’t she using lard? Well, the answer is simple: I’m a vegetarian. This recipe is vegan friendly, however, if you are a die hard omnivore traditionalist, feel free to substitute liquefied lard in place of the oil. I won’t judge.. I’m not a judgey vegetarian anyways.

I’ve included two versions of my recipe here, one regular and one utilizing unfed sourdough starter. Either version is delicious, however, the sourdough tortillas are a bit more flavorful. An added benefit of the sourdough is that it keeps the dough “alive” and lasts much longer in the fridge! Normally, the plain tortilla dough will turn grey if kept in the fridge even overnight! The sourdough will keep for several days, if it actually hangs around in your fridge that long. Try em both to see which one you prefer! πŸ™‚

abuela

Ingredients are all organic, when available.

Regular Flour Tortillas

  • 3 cups all purpose flour* (444 g)
  • 1 tsp salt (8 g)
  • 1 tsp baking powder (6 g)
  • 1/3 cup oil** (75 g)
  • 1 cup water (220 g)

Sourdough Flour Tortillas

  • 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour* (370 g)
  • 1 tsp salt (8 g)
  • 1 tsp baking powder (6 g)
  • 1/3 cup oil** (75 g)
  • 1 cup unfed sourdough starter (250 g)
  • 1/2 cup water (110 g)

*You can use a variety of flours in this recipe. I usually keep at least 50% all purpose and then experiment with other whole grains. I really like mixing spelt, einkorn, and whole wheat flours into this recipe. Try out a variety and see what works best for you!

**Whatever oil you prefer! I typically use olive, avocado, or coconut. πŸ™‚

Instructions:
I prefer to mix this dough in my Kitchenaid with the dough hook, however, this is a very simple dough and comes together just as easily by hand! Whisk your dry ingredients together and then add the liquid ingredients until a ball forms. The dough should be soft and slightly tacky, you might need to adjust the flour/water depending on your grainΒ  choices and the state of your sourdough starter. (I keep mine hydrated at 100% so it is like a pancake batter in consistency.) Let the ball rest for 5 minutes. I like to assemble my ingredients while I’m waiting and preheat the grill pan to medium high.

doughballs

After the dough has rested briefly, separate the dough into 14-16 balls. I usually only use about half this amount at a time, so I immediate freeze or refrigerate the dough in the ball form. They last a long time in the freezer and thaw out perfectly!

Rolling the tortillas out is actually very simple! I like to first take a ball into my hand and press it into a disc. Then place the disc on a well floured surface, rub a little flour on top of the disc (I also rub a little flour on my rolling pin to prevent sticking!), and then roll the tortilla into as close to a circle as you can get. These really don’t have to be perfectly circular, they will be just as delicious no matter what shape they are in!

rolledout

Roll the tortilla as thick or thin as you like, then place it carefully on the preheated grill pan (or skillet, cast iron grill, whatever). These cook up fast, but generally I’m able to roll out another tortilla while it cooks. Keep a careful eye on the tortilla, it will get lots of bubbles on the top within about 30-60 seconds and that’s when you know it’s ready to flip! Flip it carefully, using a utensil if necessary, and cook for another few seconds. Be extremely cautious if you try to pop any big bubbles, because they are full of steam and will definitely burn the crap out of you. Speaking from experience. Lol

cookedtortillas.jpg

I like to stack my cooked tortillas on a plate covered with a kitchen towel (or paper towel) and topping with another towel to keep in the heat. If you place them directly on a plate, they will sweat and get soggy. You’ve been warned. πŸ˜‰

And there you have it! Delicioso tortillas just like abuela used to make! Or she would have, if you lived south of the border!

mexfoodcollage

These obviously make awesome tacos, but don’t stop there! They make fabulous quesadillas, chimichangas, burritos, flautas, enchiladas, and more!!

Viva la tortilla!

This recipe pairs well with my No Soak 4 Hour Crock Pot Pinto Beans & Fat Free Vegan β€˜Refried’ Beans and my Grilled Tempeh & Veggie Fajitas w/ Cracked Black Pepper & Jalapeno Buttermilk Cheese!

20 thoughts on “Make Abuela Proud Flour Tortillas (Sourdough and Regular Version)

      • I don’t think I’ve tried making them more than a few times in my life. It was just more convenient to buy but I like how easy these are to make. Even if rolling out is still time consuming. πŸ™‚

      • It’s a little time consuming at first, but you’ll also get faster! I fly around my kitchen when I’m making these, rolling, flipping, rolling, switching.. It’s a bit fun! LOL

      • With the huge bubbles, if I don’t watch the tortillas every minute, I get charring. I found if I tap the top of the tortilla gently as the first side is frying, with a metal spatula, I can avoid the worst of the big ones. πŸ™‚

        By the way, I found it challenging to navigate your blog as I was taking a look. I use wordpress and I think it’s much easier. I don’t knit/crochet any more, though I used to, so I was curious to see what else you’d posted.

      • Thanks for the feedback! This is a WordPress site, so I’ll have to see about using a different theme. I was trying out this new one, but if it’s difficult to navigate that’s no bueno. Lol πŸ™‚

      • Are you using mobile or a computer? On the computer, there are two squares with lines on either side of the page. The left side has the Menu and the right side has the archives/categories. I’ll have to check on my phone to see how it is different on the mobile version.

      • Okay, then the squares should be at the top of the screen, in the same area where the blog name is listed “Flower Child From Scratch” Hope that helps! πŸ˜€

      • Your header bar is huge and takes up 3/4 of the screen. All I can see is Baking, Cooking, Recipes and the very top of the title of the post (1/4″ at most.)

      • Hmm.. It’s different on my screen. I guess I’ll have to test my site on my other computers and see what it looks like. Thanks for the heads up!

      • Thanks! Mine too.. So weird. My header would disappear as I scrolled down. I wonder why that didn’t happen to yours? Anyways, I’ve changed the theme so it should be easier to navigate. Thanks again! πŸ™‚

  1. Pingback: Sourdough Flour Tortillas | A_Boleyn

  2. Pingback: Grilled Tempeh & Veggie Fajitas w/ Homemade Cracked Black Pepper & JalapeΓ±o Buttermilk Cheese | Flower Child From Scratch

  3. I have been searching for years for the best flour tortilla that would even come close to my grandmothers. This one is the closest by far. Definitely saving this one and will be my go to when I make them for my family. Thank you.

  4. I made a batch of this dough several days ago – wonderful! I did sub 1/2 masa harina for 1/2 of the flour. I’ve been buying the 1/2 & 1/2 tortillas and liked that they are soft but have the masa flavor as well – I LOVE masa! At any rate, it worked well and the freeze/thaw/bake worked very well for me also – a winner-winner-winner!! I froze in thick small disk shapes so they thaw fast, roll out easily and bake as usual. Thanks, Samantha!

I'd love to hear from you! :)

