Seaforth & Conquer (Lace Knitting)

The Seaforth is a lovely lace hat pattern on Ravelry written by designer Karie Westermann. The free pattern works up fast with squishy, worsted weight wool. (I knit mine in just 2 days!) The easy lace repeats, both written out & charted, would be perfect for novice lace knitters! The result is a stylish slouchy hat that would be awesome year round!

seaforth

This hat might look complicated, but I assure you – it’s not. If you can yo, ssk, & k2tog – you can definitely knit this stunning hat!! I made the following simple modifications in knitting my Seaforth (in the smaller size). I prefer a longer brim on my slouchy hats, so I knit the K2P2 ribbing to 2.75 inches instead of the recommended 10 rows. I then followed the chart and knit the lace section 7 times. The hat measured approximately 7 inches when I began the decreases. Decrease as written for your chosen size and bind off as directed.

seaforth1

The yarn I used for this project is Madelinetosh Vintage in the discontinued colorway “Saffron.” I lucked out and won this gorgeous hank in a giveaway on Instagram by @iknit2purl2 with a variety of other lovely yarns (thanks again!!)! This yarn is super soft, squishy, and a joy to look at! Other yarns I would recommend for this project include Malabrigo Rios (as suggested by the designer and one of my favorites) and Knit Picks Swish Worsted (a great, budget-friendly option!).

seaforth2

I hope you enjoy knitting a Seaforth of your own! Seaforth and conquer lace knitting!

ā¤ Samantha

 

I'd love to hear from you! :)

