Butter Than Ever Cinnamon Rolls

I have a confession. Even though I write a food blog, I rarely ever read them. In fact, I usually skim over all the personal bloggy parts and go straight to the ingredients list. That’s what I’m there for. Show me your ingredients and send me on my way.

More often than not, that’s all I need. I usually don’t bother to read the instructions. Cooking is very instinctive for me. However, sometimes a recipe will throw me off because one ingredient is listed in the full amount that will later be divided for different parts of the recipe.

This, my dears, is how this recipe came to be. The original recipe lists a stick of butter. The stick of butter is supposed to be divided.. 3 tbs IN the dough, the rest on top. I, not bothering to read the instructions – as usual, melted the entire stick of butter with my nut milk (this actually happened twice with the same recipe, I never learn..). Not wanting to waste food, I went with it and was really impressed with the outcome. It might not be the healthiest recipe I’ve shared, but damn, is it delicious. 😀

butterthanever

Ingredients (aka what you’re here for 😉 ) (Organic, when possible)

Dough:

  • 1 stick butter, melted with
  • 1 cup milk of choice (I use coconut, cashew, or almond)
  • 3 cups AP flour, sifted
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 1/4 tsp yeast

Cinnamon Center:

  • 1/2 stick butter, room temperature
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1-3 tbs cinnamon (or to taste)
  • Optional (but amazing!!): 1/4 cup finely chopped nuts (I used almonds)

Melt the butter with milk of choice. Allow to cool slightly (you don’t want it to be so hot it kills the yeast). Mix flour, salt, and brown sugar. Make a well in the center and add the yeast. Slowly add milk/butter to form a soft dough. (I use my KitchenAid with dough attachment. This could also be done in a food processor or by hand.) Knead briefly & allow to rest 1 hour.

cinrolAfter the dough has risen, you will roll it out onto a floured surface. Roll into a large rectangle (approximately 12″ x 18″). Rub the butter on the rectangle, followed by the cinnamon & sugar. I like to use my hands and massage the butter/cinnamon/sugar mixture all over the dough, making sure it extends from end to end. Add nuts if desired. Now, starting with a longer side of the rectangle, tightly roll the dough into a long cylinder and softly pinch the ends. Slice the dough into 9 even portions. Place dough portions in a buttered baking dish with plenty of space surrounding each roll. (You can alternatively bake on a parchment lined baking sheet.) Allow to rise again for 15 minutes.

prebakedrolls

Bake cinnamon rolls at 350 degrees F for 20-30 minutes, until lightly browned on top. While the cinnamon rolls are baking, you can make the glaze. I’ve created a simple, yummy glaze; However, next time I make these I’ll definitely plan ahead and do a cream cheese icing. They deserve it. 🙂

Glaze:

  • 3/4 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 – 1 tbs milk of choice
  • Optional: 1/4 tsp almond extract

Mix all ingredients together, add more sugar or milk as needed for desired consistency. Pour 1/2 of the glaze over cinnamon rolls as soon as they come out of the oven. Save the rest of the glaze to dress the rolls just prior to serving.

cinnamonrolls

I hope you enjoy these delectable cinnamon rolls! And don’t worry, it won’t hurt my feelings if you skipped over all my bloggy bits. 😉

❤ Samantha

2 thoughts on “Butter Than Ever Cinnamon Rolls

I'd love to hear from you! :)

