Vegan Red Kuri Squash & Pumpkin Quickbread and All Things Autumn.

At the risk of sounding like every other basic white girl in the Northern Hemisphere, I love autumn. Everything about it in fact. Every basic thing, like the changing colors of the leaves, the chill in the air, the ability to wear hoodies and hand knits. And of course, all things pumpkin + spice.

Rather than just run to the nearest Starbucks, I prefer to make my own pumpkin spice goodness. Already this season, I’ve baked a from-scratch pumpkin pie, made pumpkin spice smoothies, & of course, tried my hand at my very own PSL (pumpkin spice latte for you non-basic white girls). The following recipe is super fall festive, because not only does it contain our beloved pumpkin (and plenty of spice!), but I’ve added extra autumn oomph by including Red Kuri squash.

redkuripumpkinyarn

                             Red Kuri Squash & Pie Pumpkin Pictured with my Hand Dyed, Handspun Wool.

I’ve never eaten Red Kuri before, but I love trying new squash when I see them at the market. My boyfriend, an avid squash avoider, refuses to eat most of the squash I bring home. Unless, of course, I trick him into it. This recipe is another attempt in making my bf reform his views on certain squash. (I swear, I will never give up trying to make him a squash convert.) He gladly and willingly ate this quickbread and there were no complaints. Seems as long as I hide the squash in baked goods or mac’n’cheese, my man can be amenable. 😉

Vegan Red Kuri & Pumpkin Quickbread

redkuribread

This recipe was originally all pumpkin, I just added Red Kuri to try it out. You can always do this same process with a pie pumpkin instead of the squash. If you want to do ALL Red Kuri, I’d advise using 2 squash.

Ingredients (all organic & local, when possible):

  • 1/4 cup non-dairy milk (I use unflavored, non-sweetened coconut milk)
  • 1/4 tsp lemon juice or apple cider vinegar
  • 15 oz red kuri squash and/or pumpkin puree
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tbs maple syrup
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbs pumpkin pie spice
  • 2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • handful of sprouted pumpkin seeds (optional but awesome!)

First thing you’ll want to do is roast the squash & pumpkin. I do this by carefully cutting them in half and removing the seeds from inside. Scrape the inside clean with a spoon and rinse the seeds if you intend to roast them later. Coat both sides of the squash with oil and roast for about 45 minutes in a 450 degree oven. Allow the squash/pumpkin to cool and then scoop out the flesh.

redkuriraostpureeAdd the flesh and all liquid ingredients to your blender to puree for several seconds. Pour the liquid mixture into a bowl and add the dry ingredients. Mix until well combined. Pour into a bread pan (I line mine with parchment to make it easier to remove the bread after baking. Bonus, it keeps the pan clean, too!) and top with sprouted pumpkin seeds.

unbakedBake at 350 degrees (F) for 50-60 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean. Allow to sit in the pan for a few minutes before removing the parchment and cooling on a baker’s rack. When the bread is sufficiently cooled off, you can slice & enjoy!

squashbread

Happy Fall, Y’all!

XO Samantha

I'd love to hear from you! :)

