A Toadstool Necklace From A Champagne Cork!

I love small, simple projects that can be finished in a number of hours. Constantly inundated with ideas for long, drawn out plans that must be completed with meticulous detail, it’s nice to have a spur of the moment project that I end up adoring. Sometimes easy is the best way.

“Keep It Simple, Stupid.” 😛

I can’t remember which teacher imbedded that into my brain, but alas, it’s wisdom is still apparent.

Today, I want to share with you an adorable necklace that’s inspiration came at a best friend’s wedding this past year. The day was perfect, the bride was beautiful, and the champagne flowed abundantly. Corks were popping around me everywhere, and upon their descent to the tables and cement below, I noticed their shape. Perfect toadstools. I had my nephews on their hands and knees gathering as many as they could. Now I have a champagne-toadstool stash!!

corks

A quick browse through my Craft board on Pinterest, and you’ll see that I am a huge fan of toadstools. You can also find them scattered throughout my house. I love their vintage feel and the innocence they portray. Toadstools just make me happy. 😉

This necklace is super easy to make, and only takes a few hours to complete. The supplies are minimal and the results are great!! Just take a look at the before and after:

toadstool

Cute. Cute. Cute. Cute. Cute. Okay, moving on…

You will need:

  • 1 Toadstool Shaped Champagne Cork
  • 2 Smallish Circular Jumprings (Can be found at a jewelry/art/craft supply store.)
  • Necklace chain of your chosen length
  • Acrylic Paint in (Titanium) White and (Engine) Red
  • 2 Paint Brushes (Flat one for the surface painting and small one for detail.)

supplies

First, you’ll paint several coats of white and red paint on either half of the toadstool. I did one color at a time and let dry 1 hour between each coat, starting with the white on the bottom half. After the final red top coat is applied and is COMPLETELY dry, you can then paint a few white spots.

You can do a few more coats on the white spots, until you have your desired look. Then let that dry completely as well. Once dry, you can add the jewelry components. I used a pair of needle-nosed pliers to shape one jumpring into a semicircle, that I then inserted into the top of my toadstool. You want to make sure it’s in there at least halfway. Leave room at the top to connect your other jumpring, also inserting the necklace chain. Like so:

toadstool1

Wa-lah! An adorable toadstool necklace for you and others to enjoy!!!! Now you can wear it the rest of the summer with your favorite handmade, upcycled outfits…

necklace1

Stay crafty, creative, and full of love! Namaste!!! 🙂

*This post was shared on Wildcrafting Wednesday and Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways!

4 thoughts on “A Toadstool Necklace From A Champagne Cork!

  1. Hi Samantha, thanks for stopping by and liking my post. I just had a quck look at your blog and I love these toadstools. I am just starting to create a fairy village that I will be tucking away in my garden for my grandaughters to discover next summer. These are perfect and I will definately be adding a few to the village. Thanks for the great idea. Tracy

    • These will be so perfect!!! My original thoughts for this were actually to use them in a fairy village, too! I’m sure the girls will LOVE it!!! 🙂

I'd love to hear from you! :)

