Chickpea Salad (A Vegan Tuna Alternative!)

Last time we met, I showed you how to make your own super simple refrigerator pickles. Today, I’m going to share a recipe in which you can utilize these tasty dill spears. As a child, I absolutely LOVED tuna salad… Which is odd, because I LOATHED all things seafood. Tuna was different. Tuna understood me. Whether it was piled high on crackers, or eaten as a soggy sandwich at lunchtime, tuna was one of my all-time favorites. When I became vegetarian, it never occurred to me how much I had missed tuna… Until I stumbled upon this recipe. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Chickpea Salad AKA Mock Tuna Salad

chickpeasalad4

You will need:

  • 2 cans organic chickpeas
  • 2/3 – 1 cup Vegenaise (or other vegan mayo alternative)
  • 1 tbs brown or yellow mustard
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar or lemon juice
  • 1/2 – 1 cup chopped red onion, celery, and homemade dill pickle spears
  • celery salt, pepper, and smoked paprika to taste
  • optional – 1 tsp spirulina, kelp, or powdered nori for a ‘fishy’ flavor

First, you will want to rinse and drain your chickpeas. Place chickpeas in a food processor and pulse several times. You don’t want to completely pulverize the chickpeas. You want them to break down into a similar texture to tuna. It will look like this when you are finished.

chickpeasalad8

Next you will add these guys to get the party started…..

chickpeasalad7

Followed by a healthy serving of veggies. (Extra points for using local, organic, and/or homemade/homegrown!)

chickpeasalad6

Now, just season with some celery salt, freshly ground pepper, and a dash of smoked paprika!

chickpeasalad5

This seriously looks AND tastes like the real thing! The first time I made it for my BF a few years ago, he asked if I served him REAL tuna!!!! LMAO!

chickpeasalad3

You can use this recipe in all ways you would tuna salad – on crackers, over pasta, or the old sandwich stand-by (made even better with some melted cheese on top!)!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

Enjoy!!!

*This post has been shared on Frugally Sustainable’s Frugal Day’s, Sustainable Ways and Wildcrafting Wednesday!

6 thoughts on “Chickpea Salad (A Vegan Tuna Alternative!)

  1. What a fantastic idea! I’m not a vegan so I still eat ‘real’ tuna, but I do love chickpeas. This is a great alternative sandwich filling ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for this, and for stopping by my blog so that I could find yours! x

  2. Wow a chickpea salad! We use a lot of chickpeas too in Indian cooking, but never thought of making it this way. I’m super pleased to have found your site… Thanks, will let you know once I give it a shot.

    • I loooove me some Indian cooking! I hope you enjoy! It tastes a lot like tuna salad, IMO! (Though it has been many years…) LOL!

I'd love to hear from you! :)

