10 Minute Refrigerator Pickles!

I’ve been absent from the blog lately. My bad, I’ve been pretty busy. I just got back from Wakarusa and am getting used to the grind again. It’s always a bit difficult coming back to reality. 😉

waka

Ahhhh… Mulberry Mountain. Soak her in… (I’ll see you again next year!)

Wakarusa is always a good time. My boyfriend designs and runs the lights on the Outpost stage. This year I got to see one of my favorite bands, Emancipator, play on his stage. A lot of the headlining acts were canceled this year due to the weather. We found out the day we left that tornadoes hit 5 and 1 mile(s) from the festival!!!! Super scary stuff.

wakawaka

The festival was full of mud and craziness, but was fun nonetheless. I am so thankful I get to be super spoiled there. We were provided a brand new RV to stay in and golf carts to drive around.. I only traveled into the ‘mud pit’ a couple of times, for pizza and Snoop. 🙂

beforeafterwaka

Those shoes were nearly brand new before Waka. Flip flops just weren’t going to cut it. Most people were barefoot, but since I was working I couldn’t forgo shoes. Still, I am anxious to see what they look like after they’re all cleaned up! I think I’ll like them a darker shade of brown. 🙂

Okay, now for a super easy recipe. I have been craving homemade pickles (NO – I am NOT pregnant!!!!). I just love pickles, and nothing beats homemade. (DUH!) So here you go.

Ten Minute Refrigerator Pickles!

pickles

You need:

For the brine

  • 4 cups filtered water
  • 10 cloves local garlic
  • 2 cups white vinegar
  • 6 tsps fine sea salt

Per glass canning jar (I ended up w/ 3 pint sized jars)

  • 1 tsp whole black peppercorns
  • 1 tsp dill seeds (or fresh dill if your house-sitter didn’t kill it while you were away)
  • 1 tsp coriander seeds
  • 1/2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 1/2 tsp mustard seeds
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 – 2 locally grown organic cucumbers, cut in half and then lengthwise into spears

Simply bring the 4 cups of water to boil, add the garlic, and then simmer for 5 minutes. While you wait, cut the cucumbers and fill each jar with the spices. Once the garlic is cooked, split them evenly amongst your canning jars. Add the vinegar and salt to the cooking water and bring back to a boil until the salt is dissolved (will only take a couple of minutes). While you wait, pack the cucumber spears into the jars tightly. When the brine is ready, pour to the brim of each jar and allow to cool. Cover and refrigerate! These can be eaten after a few hours and will taste even better in the upcoming days. They will last up to 3 months in the fridge, IF you don’t eat them all before then!!! 🙂

Enjoy and Namaste!

*This post has been shared on Wildcrafting Wednesday and Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways!

5 thoughts on “10 Minute Refrigerator Pickles!

  1. Pingback: Chickpea Salad (A Vegan Tuna Alternative!) | The Ascension House

    • this recipe is! feel free to add smoked paprika, cayenne, chili flakes, jalapenos, curry powder, ect… you can really get creative to suit your personal tastes!! you can also use fresh dill or dill heads in place of the seeds! 🙂

  2. Love your website Sam! I picked a HUGE mamma jamma of a cucumber last week and knew I had seen you post an easy recipe…can’t wait to test it out this weekend.
    I made a variation of your homemade kimchi in early Spring and it rocked my world! (I actually have a tiny bit left that I’m saving for the perfect meal). Keep the goodness coming!

    • Thanks lady! I love that kimchi recipe.. It’s almost time for me to make some more! Enjoy the pickles, they are perfect if you’re impatient, like me!! 🙂

I'd love to hear from you! :)

