DIY Laundry Detergent – Easy As 1, 2, 3!!!!

I strive to keep my house as chemical-free as possible. Vinegar, baking soda, and Dr. Bronner’s abound. Today, I’d like to show you how simple it is to make your own laundry detergent. You probably have most of the ingredients already. If not, there are only 3, so it is not pricey nor complicated at all!!!! Okay, let’s get started…! πŸ™‚

laundry4

You will need:

1 bar Dr. Bronner’s (I LOVE lavender!)

1.5 cups washing soda

1.5 cups baking soda

Step 1: Grate the bar of soap. You can use a food processor to make this step a breeze. Mine pooped out on me several months ago, so I have been grating by hand. It takes a little arm work, but it’s worth it! πŸ˜‰

laundry3

Step 2: Put soap in a container (I use a quart-sized canning jar). Add the baking/washing sodas.

Step 3: Shake VIGOROUSLY!!!! (You’ll also want to shake prior to use, otherwise the ingredients will settle!) *If using the food processor method – Add the sodas to the processor and use the chopping blade to pulse into a fine powder, THEN put in a container ! πŸ™‚

laundry5

There you have it! Super easy, right? Now, how to use this lovely stuff – Add 2 tbs to your wash, and that’s it!!!! I add about 1/4 cup white vinegar to the rinse as a fabric softener/refresher. In lieu of dryer sheets, I use a balled up sock with a few drops of essential oils!!! πŸ™‚

I hope this inspires you to quit the chemicals and try your hand at some of your own green cleaning supplies!

Also – I wanted to update you on the KOMBUCHA brewin’! These pics are from Day 11! I will be bottling this tonight (Day 14), allowing a second fermentation with ginger and local honey to flavor!

scoby2

Mmmmmm! I can hardly wait! Namaste for now!!!! ❀

This post has been shared on Frugally Sustainable’s Frugal Days, Sustainable Ways and Wildcrafting Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “DIY Laundry Detergent – Easy As 1, 2, 3!!!!

  1. Hi! I just made this and can’t wait to try. I know it says 2 tablespoons per load, is that for a large load? How much for small or med?

    • 2 tbs should be fine for a large load, however, if it’s REALLY soiled, I sometimes use up to 1/4 cup! πŸ™‚ Don’t forget a little vinegar in the rinse!! (I don’t really measure how much I add, but probably around 2-4 tbs also!)

I'd love to hear from you! :)

