Depression’s a Bitch. (And So Am I When I’m Drunk.)

If you’re anything like me (and my guess is since you’re reading my blog, you probably are), I’m sure you’ve dealt with depression at one moment or another in your existence. It happens to all of us. We get ‘stuck in ruts.’ It is our purpose, as spiritual beings, to do EVERYTHING in our power to keep this monster at bay. Otherwise, she will consume your life and all bad things will eventually manifest.

fears

source

This weekend was a weird one. BF worked 12am-8am both Friday and Saturday nights and, for some reason, my spirit longed to stay awake those hours as well. I guess I needed the alone time.

Friday night, I danced and cleaned to Grateful Dead tunes. The smell of grapefruit essential oil penetrated the air and my mop water. There’s nothing quite like a clean house. πŸ™‚

stove

Saturday, I drank alone. I won’t post in detail about my relationship with alcohol here, but I’ll probably approach it at some point. Let’s just say, I tend to avoid it because that’s what’s best for my soul.

A few beers in that night, I started to really miss my friend, we’ll call her Sue. Sam and Sue have a lot in common. I mean, A LOT! She understands me like none other. She’s the one person (other than blood family and BF) that knows ALL of my secrets. We have struggled with similar self-destructive thought-patterns, or ‘disorders’ as a doctor once labeled them. (And gave me lots of pills for it.)

The pills never helped, they actually took me on a long, crazy trip and almost ended me entirely. More on that another time. What has worked, though, is actively trying to change my thought-patterns and focus on positivity. It’s damn hard, I’m not going to lie. It’s super easy to just surrender to the bad feelings and let them take control. Trust me, I’ve been there.

Sue has been sad lately. I know this, because she hasn’t been in contact with me. She doesn’t post on Facebook. She rarely talks to me on Gmail. I know she’s there. Every day, just as I am.

Still, there’s this separateness. And it KILLS me, because I know she’s suffering. I wish I could help, but depression is something so personal. You can only encourage someone so much. The rest is up to them. You have to REALLY want it. You have to take the steps towards permanent change.

Sue was online that night and I got a chance to talk with her. If talk is what you would call it. More like me barraging her with questions and solutions. I’m sorry, Sue. I just hate to see you this way. 😦

I also realized how selfish depression really is. Not only are you making yourself miserable, but by allowing it to conquer you, you are also putting those you love, that truly love you in it’s midst.

Sue is upset about things she has no control over. I tried to show her that the only thing she can change is the way she reacts to it. It seems like Sue takes things for granted. I tried to encourage her to physically list things she’s grateful for everyday. I’ve tried this before. It’s positively magical.

gratitude list

source

Seriously, though. It works. Other things that have helped me combat my depression and anxiety:

  • Yoga
  • Meditation
  • Aromatherapy (lavender essential oil is my life-long savior)
  • Eating an organic whole-foods, plant based diet (green juice makes me soo happy!)
  • Deep breathing techniques; Pranayama
  • Keeping a gratitude journal
  • Journaling, in general
  • Focusing on the current moment
  • Researching the Law of Attraction
  • Being grateful, every moment of every day!

These tools are best if used daily. Try to incorporate them into your life in as many ways as possible! Then watch as your worries and ‘mental problems’ vanish!!! It truly works, IF you do!!! πŸ™‚

So Sue, if you’re reading this, I’m very sorry if it seemed like I attacked you in any way. I am only trying to help. I know what you are going through and I will always be there for you. Always.

dalai

To anyone else reading, please let me know if you have any other tips or tricks that have worked for you or your loved ones! Just leave me a comment below! πŸ™‚

Thanks for reading. Namaste! xoxo

2 thoughts on “Depression’s a Bitch. (And So Am I When I’m Drunk.)

  1. I must not fear. Fear is the mind-killer. Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration. I will face my fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me. And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path. Where the fear has gone there will be nothing. Only I will remain. Bene Gesserit Litany Against Fear from Dune, always helps me πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear from you! :)

