Fuck-Yeah French (Red) Onion Soup

What is there to say about French Onion soup, really, except: OH MY FUCKING GOD. Delicious!!!

frenchonion

I’ve never made French Onion soup before. I know, that’s crazy right? Even crazier, I’ve never even EATEN it before!!! When I was young, I wasn’t a fan of onions. I remember BEGGING my mom to ‘leave the onions out’ of the food she made us. Most of the time, she would just cut them reeeeeeally small so that we didn’t realize they were in the meal. Moms are always sneaky like that!

fo1

Since I became a vegetarian about 6 years ago, I have really grown to love onions. I love each variety, however, I have a special infatuation with red onions. I used to cook with nothing but, until my boyfriend insisted I switch it up some. These days, you will find me with a couple of white and yellow onions in my grocery basket amongst the bag of red. πŸ˜‰

fo4

Fuck-Yeah French (Red) Onion Soup

You will need:

  • 5-6 red onions
  • 1/4 c grapeseed oil
  • 1-2 tbs organic unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbs mustard
  • 2 tbs organic soy sauce or tamari
  • 6 cups vegetable broth (or organic, grass-fed beef broth if you’re not veggie πŸ˜‰ )
  • salt, pepper, garlic powder
  • French bread, sliced into ‘croutons’ and toasted
  • Swiss Gruyere cheese, shredded

fo2

First, heat the oil and butter over medium flame. Add the onions and caramelize. (This should take around 30 minutes or so.) Stir until onions are sweet, slimy, and wonderfully brown. Now add the balsamic vinegar, soy sauce, and mustard. Cook for about 5 minutes. Next, pour in the broth and bring to a boil. Then lower the heat and simmer for another 15 minutes. Add salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste.

While the soup is simmering, slice and toast the French bread. Ladle the soup into an oven-proof bowl and top with the toasted crouton. Add a handful of Gruyere cheese to the top of the crouton and then place soup under broiler until cheese is melted. Finally, let cool slightly and DEVOUR!!!

fo3

Veggie and non-veggie lover’s will unite over this incredibly delicious soup! Even my carnivorous roommate (who hates onions ‘for the most part’) LOVED it! πŸ™‚ Enjoy!!!! xoxo

2 thoughts on “Fuck-Yeah French (Red) Onion Soup

  1. Anything with caramelised onions and cheese has got to be good!!! Hm, so as a vegetarian you don’t mind eating cheese and butter? I have four puritan vegetarian/vegan friends who won’t go near anything with animal products, so it always makes me curious to discover other people’s points of view. I reckon they’re missing out, though I guess I can understand their standpoints. As for me? I eat anything, everything, all the time. Especially cheesy goodness, fuck yeah!

    • Oh yes, I totally agree! πŸ™‚ There are many stages to vegetarianism, though I try not to label myself with any. I still eat butter, cheese, and other dairy products like sour cream and cottage cheese (on occasion). I was never a fan of cow’s milk nor eggs, so those aren’t in my diet anymore. I loooove coconut milk/ice cream, it actually tastes better than regular, in my opinion! Health wise, I understand the reasons for being 100% vegan, however, I just cannot do it at this point in my life. I would need so much more time to make all the substitutes needed because I refuse to eat that processed soy cheese crap! LOL For now, and/or until I get some life-threatening disease that would require such a drastic, strictly plant-based diet (like in the China Study), I will continue to love and consume ridiculous amounts of ooey-gooey cheese! πŸ™‚

I'd love to hear from you! :)

