Stupid Simple Refrigerator Cookies

If you’re like me, some days you just feel

LLLLLLLAAAAAAAAAAAAZZZZZZZZZZZZYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY!

That was definitely my Sunday. Granted, we did get our asses up to go to the grocery store and pay rent. That’s asking a lot for a group of stoners. 😉

When we got back, I made some quick quesadillas.. Because, well, I was just too damned lazy to cook any of the delicious groceries I just purchased. After dinner, we got hungry again. Typical.

JC made some butter, and I promised to make something sweet once it was finished. Then the time came. “You’re up,” he said.

I peeled my lazy ass off the couch, took a deep breath, and headed to my Pinterest. I searched “quick easy chocolate.” And, as usual, the Pinterest god heard my plea! It’s like she can read my mind. 😉

I found this recipe for “Chocolate Peanut Butter No-Bake Cookies.” No bake??? YES PLEASE!

Not being too fond of peanut butter, I used the organic almond we had on hand. Carrying on the almond theme, I used it’s milk too, in place of cow’s. I also added half a bag of semi-sweet Ghirardelli chocolate chips (which melted so I had to add a little more oatmeal). Highdeas don’t always work.

nobake1

Refrigerator Cookies

Also called No-Bake or Boiled cookies. I like refrigerator, because, when you live in Texas, that’s where you have to keep them!!! 😉

2 cups sugar
4Tb cocoa
1 stick butter
1/2 cup almond milk
1 cup almond butter
1 Tb vanilla
1/2 bag of quality chocolate chips
3-4.5 cups oatmeal (the consistency should get slightly firm upon sitting)

Mix the sugar, cocoa, milk, and melted butter in a heavy pot. Boil for about one minute. Add the almond butter and vanilla, stir until melted. Now add the oatmeal and chocolate chips. Let sit for a few minutes to firm up slightly. Drop cookies, whatever size you like, onto a parchment lined baking sheet. Let firm in freezer about 5-10 minutes, or in the fridge about 20-30 minutes. Enjoy!!!! If you live in a warmer climate, like me, it’s best to store these cookies in the fridge! 🙂

nobake2

Mmmmmm…. They remind me of StarCrunch, but with oatmeal instead of crispies. Which I can totally dig, since I was never a huge fan of puffed rice. 🙂

nobake3

=^_^=

2 thoughts on “Stupid Simple Refrigerator Cookies

I'd love to hear from you! :)

