“Take That Totino’s” Homemade Pizza Rolls

There’s something so alluring about a crispy, fried shell filled with oozy cheese and marinara sauce. What’s not appealing though, is the amount of chemicals, preservatives, and other non-food ingredients that store-bought pizza rolls are made of. Since we don’t eat overly-processed foods anymore, the cheap bag of carcinogens from HEB would no longer suffice. However, I had a couch-full of hungry men-folk who’s tummies I could hear rumble from the kitchen. Not being in the mood to make pizza dough so late in the evening meant calzones, pizza muffins, and personal pans were out of the question. I searched my food-storage for a viable option. Then the wonderful lightbulb moment…

I happened to have a shitload of leftover wonton wrappers in the fridge. I had already grated mozzarella cheese from my girls’ night last week. I had an abundance of marinara sauce.

All signs pointed to go.

Quickly, I set up a wrapping station. I filled my little Chinese-print bowl with water and got a pastry brush. I mixed the cheese and marinara sauce. I preheated some grapeseed oil. And I got to work.

I decided that in order for them to look the most authentic, I would need to fold them into a square. First, I put a small amount of filling in the middle of the wonton and brushed some water along the edges. Next, fold the opposite corners towards each other, making sure no filling can escape. You want the folded side of the wonton looking like this poorly edited graphic I made in PAINT… šŸ™‚

wonton

Finally, lightly fry your wonton pizza rolls until brown and crispy on the outside. The insides will be gooey and puff up some, just like the ‘real’ ones!!! (Isn’t that an oxymoron…) šŸ˜‰

The verdict from the boys on the couch: BETTER than the original.

Real food tastes better!

Try it for yourself! šŸ™‚

pizzarolls

I'd love to hear from you! :)

