Julia Child’s Potage Parmentier AKA Leeky Love!

Why did no one tell me before that leeks are essentially giant green onions?! I would have been buying them waayyy before now. They are easy to cook and taste delicious!Β For my first leek recipe, I decided to make Julia Child’s Potage Parmentier. That’s just a fancy French way to say, super easy potato soup with leeks. I also made a wonderful, fluffy French loaf to go along with it!! How I LOVE to utilize this hand-me-down bread machine! πŸ˜‰

dough

The ingredients for the Potage Parmentier are soooouper simple (sorry, I had to!). Here they are:

  • 5-6 medium sized potatoes, any kind (I used organic Russet)
  • 2 large leeks, white and light green parts only! (Make sure you rinse a few times, leeks are VERY dirty!!)
  • organic unsalted butter
  • ‘cream’ (I used unsweetened almond milk, but any type of milk or cream will do.)
  • salt, pepper, garlic powder
  • filtered water

pots

You’ll also need an immersion or regular blender to process the soup!

soupppp

Basically, what I did was sautee the leeks in about 2 tbsp of butter. Then, add the diced potatoes and cook about 15-20 minutes. Now you will add enough water to cover all your vegetables. Allow this to come to a boil, then lower the heat and simmer until all the veggies are soft. Finally, you want to use whatever blender you have to process the soup. (Immersion blenders are the soupmaker’s BEST friend.) You can puree it completely or leave it slightly chunky. Season to taste with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. Add a tiny bit of ‘cream.’ Mix completely and serve. I topped mine with a dollop of unflavored yogurt and green onions! Can be served warm, room-temp, or even cold!

soup

For the bread, you’ll need:

breadrecipe

  • 1 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1 tablespoon oil of choice
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups bread flour (or you can sub 2 c AP with 2 tbs vital wheat gluten to make your own bread flour!)
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons active dry yeast
  • butter for brushing

breaddough

If you have a bread machine, perfect. Put the water and oil in first, followed by the flour and other dry ingredients. Add the yeast last! Then set the machine to the dough setting and you’re good to go! If you don’t have a bread machine, you can still do this! Just mix the sugar, yeast, and water together. Allow to foam up. Then add the other dry ingredients, knead, and allow to rise. After the first rise, you want to punch, knead, and let rise again for about 45 minutes. Then, shape the dough and bake for 15 minutes at 400 degrees F. Then turn down to 350 F and bake another 25 minutes.

ovenbread

Allow to cool before slicing, for best results. Serve with plenty of organic butter! πŸ™‚

frenchbread

I hope you enjoy the Potage Parmetier! I’m excited for more culinary explorations involving leeks! Next up, Leek Gratin and Savory Leek Bread Pudding…. Mmmmmmmm! πŸ™‚

soup2

Have a great Hump Day everyone!!!

3 thoughts on “Julia Child’s Potage Parmentier AKA Leeky Love!

  1. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this website before but after reading through some of the post I realized it’s
    new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll
    be book-marking and checking back often!

  2. Pingback: “I Don’t Like Squash” Butternut Mac ‘n’ Goat Cheese | The Ascension House

I'd love to hear from you! :)

